(Available from v1.46)


With the embedded content type you can create course modules containing material from thousands of content tools across the internet. Including:

  • YouTube
  • Vimeo
  • Google Docs


How does this work?

Many content delivery tools on the internet want to to share content as widely as possible, to make this easier they provide sharing tools including an "embed" option which will generate a small snippet of HTML code which can be copied into another website. The addition of the embedded content module in Training Post gives content developers a way to add that code to Training Post.




Adding embedded content.



1) Select the Embedded content type


You will be presented with the content description form.


The module title and description fields work like any other type and are shown to the learner before they open the module.


2) Next you need to obtain some embed code...


For example if you click share on a Vimeo video (see their manual here) you will see this popup message containing the embed code (amongst other ways to share).



We recommend clicking "+Show options" and turn off "show text link underneath this video" - see the note under 3) below.


Then click in the code field and copy all of the code to the clipboard.


3) Back in Training Post, paste the code in the "Embed Code" field.



Please note: the field only supports a single iframe or embed element. 


Tip: You might want to change the width and height to "100%" to fill the content window.


4) You can tell the user what kind of content you have added.

The wording is up to you - you could simply say "video" or be more specific and say "mock interview" or "observation test"  but remember this is the content type, not title. 


You can also select an icon to use on the module list.


 


4) You can add a custom privacy warning.


Training Post is not responsible for the cookies that accompany 3rd party embedded content. As such you should inform learners if the content linked here will store cookies or if they need notifying of other privacy concerns. When enabled the learner must agree to this notice to open the module.


5) You can request learner confirmation.


When enabled, learners will be presented with a confirmation popup on closing the module - which must be accepted to complete the module. This is useful to make sure the learner has completed the material and not just clicked to see what the content is.