Setting up a course

To add a course to your Training Post platform select “Manage > Courses” from the top menu. This will show you a list of all the courses in the system. 


Click the “ADD COURSE” button at the top of the manage courses page to start the wizard which will take you through the required steps.


Step 1 Add course information

Here you can add a title, category and description for your course, these will be seen by users. The description field allows basic formatting such as bold, italics and tables. You can also use the "Issue Certificate" toggle button if you would like your course to Issue a Certificate.


Step 2 Add SCORM zip file

Next, you need to upload your elearning to Training Post. You must select a SCORM course and upload it as a zip file.


When you select the “UPLOAD” button the course file will begin uploading and you will see the import status change accordingly from Uploading to Created and finally to Importing as it is processed. When this process is finished the status will then change to “Complete” or “Error”. You can also Preview the course at this stage by selecting the "PREVIEW" button which is useful to check before publishing to users in the next step.


If you get the error status please check that the course file is:

  • a SCORM file, and not the editable source files for course creation
  • using SCORM version 1.2 - this is by far the most common and the one used by Training Post, but other versions do exist
  • 200MB or less - please contact us if you need to upload larger file sizes.


Step 3 Set availability

In the final step of the wizard, you can make the course available to some or all of your users.  


The “Published” setting provides a top-level control to prevent or allow access to the course. By default the toggle button is set to publish. Select this toggle button to change this status if required.


You can also “Limit attempts” and set the number of attempts available by adding a number in the “Default number of attempts” field.


The “Group availability” table allows you to toggle which user groups can access the course. By default the course is available to all users, but you can simply turn off the all users group and grant access to other groups from this section.


Previewing a course

After successfully uploading a course the account owner can select the “PREVIEW” button to open the course in a new window and see it as a learner would see it. See note about popup blockers.


It is best practice to attempt to complete the course to check that the status and pass status are correctly recorded and that, if relevant, the score is also present.


When the course window is closed you will see the course preview results page. 


Courses with multiple modules


If a course has multiple modules including PDF and SCORM files, and owner is able to preview each type of module by selecting the "PREVIEW" button.